4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Fri May 25, 2018 8:01 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 7:59 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Covington, GA
Just as it says, I am looking for an intermediate shaft from a Colt GT or Mirage Turbo. I am putting a 4g63 into my '87 Mirage and need this intermediate shaft. The DSM intermediate shafts that I have put in do not line up correctly; the intermediate shaft bearing housing sits too far away from the oil pan if pulled to the block causing misalignment.

Thanks, guys.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2018 9:09 pm 
Offline
Some call me a god

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 1513
Location: Denton, Tx
With an account bracket or stack of washers between the block and mount you should be fine they are the same length, just use the 2 outside holes vs the inside

_________________
If speed kills, then i shoulda been dead awhile ago. There is no such thing as "Too Much Power". There is no excuse for a lost race. Do you view the rev limiter as a fun limiter?or as a shift point? And we all know, more boost=more fun.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2018 6:05 am 
Offline
CSM Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:40 pm
Posts: 662
Location: Indianapolis, IN
DSm bracket works just fine. AS stated above, Either the rear AC bracket, stack of washers or hit http://www.ExtremePSI.com for the spacers.

_________________
Thom
1991 GVR4 1025/2000 (PTE 1200's, 16g, DSMLink v3, gm-maf, eagle/ross, .020 over, 272's, EVO VIII Wheels)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2018 11:45 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Covington, GA
I have the wrong DSM shaft. This intermediate shaft came off of a bone stock 1992 7-bolt AWD manual car. This one does not line up. So, I either need a CSM shaft or the correct DSM shaft. I have read and have been told that the DSM intermediate shafts are all the same up to '96, but that is not the case here.
Can anyone tell me the exact DSM I need to get one off of?
Thanks in advance, guys! :drinkers:


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 8:27 am 
Offline
CSM Junkie
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 22, 2012 6:40 pm
Posts: 662
Location: Indianapolis, IN
I used an intermediate/jack shaft from a random 1g, worked fine. Is it possible it came from an Auto car? Also, did you look into spacers? From the factory, it is designed to bolt to the AC bracket, otherwise spacers are required to step it out and keep it aligned.

_________________
Thom
1991 GVR4 1025/2000 (PTE 1200's, 16g, DSMLink v3, gm-maf, eagle/ross, .020 over, 272's, EVO VIII Wheels)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 08, 2018 9:44 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Covington, GA
The car I pulled this intermediate shaft from was a manual car. I have the Mopar A/C delete spacer on it. I am going to bolt an A/C bracket on it and see if it wil align then. Maybe I'll get lucky!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 7:43 am 
Offline
Some call me a god

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 1513
Location: Denton, Tx
Are you using a dsm transmission or an 87 turbo transmission?

I once bought an axle shaft for a Colt turbo, found out it was an early Colt, (non c53) and nothing on it would work at all with any dsm anything g I had in the garage...

_________________
If speed kills, then i shoulda been dead awhile ago. There is no such thing as "Too Much Power". There is no excuse for a lost race. Do you view the rev limiter as a fun limiter?or as a shift point? And we all know, more boost=more fun.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2018 8:15 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 3:20 pm
Posts: 76
Location: Covington, GA
Quote:
Are you using a dsm transmission or an 87 turbo transmission?

I once bought an axle shaft for a Colt turbo, found out it was an early Colt, (non c53) and nothing on it would work at all with any dsm anything g I had in the garage...
The trans is a TRE 1G AWD manual gearbox.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2018 2:42 pm 
Offline
Some call me a god

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2002 7:00 pm
Posts: 1513
Location: Denton, Tx
Hmmm. If everything is what you say it is, then it would work...

Did you at any time pull the bracket off the axle and reinstall it in the wrong orientation?

_________________
If speed kills, then i shoulda been dead awhile ago. There is no such thing as "Too Much Power". There is no excuse for a lost race. Do you view the rev limiter as a fun limiter?or as a shift point? And we all know, more boost=more fun.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited