4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:33 am

All times are UTC-05:00

PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:46 am 
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood

Hey all. I’ve been a lurker for a LONG time here. This is my first build thread ever.

Before I begin, I would like to thank all of you who have continually posted here, explored the various modifications that can be done to the CSM platform (and the wagons!) and who keep this forum alive. Some names come to mind: FlyingEagle, Lancerman, 89MirageMan, boostfreak (or whatever you go by ;)), Natedogg, Biglady112, LilEvo, etc,… there are too many to name. None of you know me (except Nate) but I have read your threads for years and appreciate you guys keeping this place alive. You are all an inspiration!

That said, cliff notes on the car. Had it for years – Natedogg owned it and sold it to my friend. I traded a set of 1000cc injectors for it and have kept it ever since. 89 Original Turbo Mirage.

I have pictures of when I first received the car, but can’t find them. I didn’t do anything besides drag it from Alabama to Georgia to let it sit in storage…

Pics of the car:

I dragged it to Tennessee with me so I could start on it. The first thing I tackled was the roof rust that all original turbo cars are plagued with:

This is the glue responsible for the roof rust…

Cutting the roof to remove the rust…

Here’s the result of all the cutting:

Once I removed the areas where it was rusting through, I used a shop vac to remove all the rust from inside the layers of sheet metal that make up the B-pillars and where the rood joins. As a southern car, there is no more rust to deal with.

End result. Of course I used a grinder to take the rest of the rust out before using POR 15.

I also needed to remove the roof supports.

Then I used POR-15 to ensure no more rust would develop.

Then I worked on the seats. The seams were busted, otherwise everything seemed to be in good order.