4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Sat Dec 07, 2019 11:06 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 191 posts ]  Go to page Previous 19 10 11 12 13
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 11:18 am 
Offline
Some call me a god
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:53 pm
Posts: 1494
Location: Seattle, WA
Me too, I need a spacer but mine also had A/C. If you didn't have an A/C bracket I would assume you had some kind of factory spacer in there, I believe there are OEM spacers for this purpose. I have never seen IM shafts differ from A/C to non-A/C equipped cars so you either have to have a spacer or an A/C bracket. That's the way I understand it anyway, hopefully someone can confirm.

_________________
89 Mirage Billet 20g 63t 12.4@120 417whp 400wtq @ English Racing.
89 Colt GT E316g
06 Silverado SS
07 ZX6R


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:12 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:03 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Walnutport, PA
This is the bracket for a dsm intermediate shaft.

Image

The CSM intermediate doesn't have that step in it. I will take a picture of it tomorrow when I get back from my children's doctor appointment.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 5:39 pm 
Offline
The Silent Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 3:32 pm
Posts: 9441
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
What Nocturnal is saying is true. Spacer or AC bracket or BUST. It has to have one or the other in the position closest the timing belt.

Not sure why it blew out, but you have to have it centered plain and simple and the spacer should do just that if you don't have an AC bracket in place. You can cut out the spacer section from the AC bracket or order this part number from JNZtuning.net:

Click for the page at Partsouq.com

MB297732

Did you have washers in the void area, and were they hardened type steel?

There is a step in ALL intermediate shaft brackets from this era of car. Later on, things changed as the transmission swapped sides and the intermediate shaft no longer shared a location near the AC bracket, because those components changed sides in the engine bay.

I am still on the fence about how deep the threads went before hitting rusty bits. Not many people have taps that can thread right into the very end of a hole, and even at that, there aren't threads all the way into those holes, as they neck down near the end with no thread. Was this the block that came with the car? If so, it may never have had an intermediate shaft installed into it, unless Karl installed a CSM turbo intermediate shaft or a DSM intermediate shaft concoction at some point. The car never went very far ... and you've seen all the other troubles it had, so I'm just trying to get a handle on where the components sit and what you really have!

Peace of mind for all of us, when it is sorted for you.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 8:57 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:03 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Walnutport, PA
Karl installed a one piece I installed the 2 piece. I bought the CSM intermediate that looks like this without a step.

Image

See no step in it.

Edit: this is the exact one I bought... http://www.4g61t.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=66&t=40290


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:31 pm 
Offline
The Silent Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 3:32 pm
Posts: 9441
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
This is mine installed. It helps illustrate the "step" where it should be.

Please confirm for us that the engine block says 4g63 on the flat spot behind the dipstick tube area. Just checking that too.

Without a step, and not knowing what depth everything should be at, you might be outside tolerance or have an angle on the shaft. That bracket has to be wron in some sense. I know LilEvo has posted comparison and Tuners likely shows comparison photos also, but I couldn't tell you as yet, which bracket you have.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:35 pm 
Offline
The Silent Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 3:32 pm
Posts: 9441
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
I think the bolt closest the timing belt was likely too deep into the bore and bottomed, and the outer Bol was in too shallow if the thickness of the bracket was off considerably.
Posting on my phone so kinda limited on what I can search in a timely fashion.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:52 pm 
Offline
The Silent Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 3:32 pm
Posts: 9441
Location: Ottawa, ON, Canada
This shows a few photo comparisons.

http://www.4g61t.org/forum/viewtopic.ph ... on#p313861


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 4:55 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:03 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Walnutport, PA
Quote:
I think the bolt closest the timing belt was likely too deep into the bore and bottomed, and the outer Bol was in too shallow if the thickness of the bracket was off considerably.
Posting on my phone so kinda limited on what I can search in a timely fashion.
Doubt that because when I when to drill it to use the easy out it went in even further and bottomed out and got wedged in and broke the bit which is where I am stuck at now.

Here is the blowout of the mirage turbo driver side axle. Notice no single spacer each bolt gets the same spacers. Which is the way I had it. Now I may not have had it spaced out exactly the way it was supposed to be but both were even and torqued.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 03, 2016 5:07 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:03 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Walnutport, PA
Quote:
This shows a few photo comparisons.

http://www.4g61t.org/forum/viewtopic.ph ... on#p313861
In that thread on the first page there is a comparison picture of the two intermediate shafts and you can just see the difference between the two...

Image

The bracket on the right (the CSM one) is in general thicker overall. It lacks the notch at the top (towards the timing belt) for the AC bracket (which is why it didn't work for the alternator relocation kit which the thread mentions).


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 11:14 am 
Offline
Some call me a god
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 8:53 pm
Posts: 1494
Location: Seattle, WA
Spacer on timing belt side only keeps getting mentioned but the A/C bracket covers both bolt holes equally, you will need (2) spacers, not 1.

So what did you have in there for spacers?

_________________
89 Mirage Billet 20g 63t 12.4@120 417whp 400wtq @ English Racing.
89 Colt GT E316g
06 Silverado SS
07 ZX6R


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2016 1:01 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 7:03 pm
Posts: 156
Location: Walnutport, PA
I don't remember how far it was spaced out exactly I remember reading to space it out until it didn't bind. I know it isn't the same as the dsm one though.

And both were spaced out equally. But I'm not sure how far.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 191 posts ]  Go to page Previous 19 10 11 12 13

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited