4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 10:03 am

All times are UTC-05:00

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:34 pm 

Hey guys, I thought Id start a thread on my new (and first ever) Colt Gt. It is for the most part stock except for a 14b and a K&N filter. There is a little story behind it but I will post some pics first!

On to the story. I am a mechanic at Archer Racing Accessories here in Duluth MN. We used to race dsms in the SCCA when they first came out. (google it) So anything DSM in the local area usually ends up at the shop.

Well about 2 years back an older gentleman (Jon, in his early 60's) stopped in with this car. He knew what it was and wanted to do some upgrades. Well upon further inspection I found that the stock turbo was locked up and someone un-hooked the WGA so the wastegate was open.

I installed a 14b that we had, a new K&N and all new timing belt components. I by-passed the stock boost solenoid and had him come test drive it. He was amazed (though I wasn't) and he took it home. I told him if he ever wanted to sell it to get ahold of me.

Fast forward to about 2 months ago. Jon called me at work, he wanted to sell the Colt! He felt that I had such an appreciation for the car that he would give me first dibs on it. So a few months of saving and it's mine.

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:52 pm 

Well this is not my first DSM, my current and only one, the love of my life, my pride and joy is my 2g Talon AWD. I converted it from FWD to AWD and built it up to an E85 sputtering 700-800 hp Viper killer.

The colt is to be a fun toy that gets good mileage (better than my truck) with all the basic mods for now. I imagine it someday being AWD and who knows what.