4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Fri May 24, 2019 8:36 pm

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:23 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2001 7:00 pm
Posts: 2191
Location: SoCal and Wisconsin
http://www.lilevo.com/turbo/tach/body_tach.html

_________________
90 Mirage LIL EVO 940awhp
14 Audi R8 V10
07 LS460L, 01 LS430
13 Tundra TRD S/C, 96 T100
96 Land Cruiser GT35R


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:50 am 
Offline
Some call me a god
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:08 pm
Posts: 1025
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Holy rats nest, can you take a pic of the harness under your dash so we can take a look at that?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 10:59 am 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2001 7:00 pm
Posts: 2191
Location: SoCal and Wisconsin
It's pin 4 on that black connector at the passenger kick panel above the ECU. It's a solid white wire. All you gotta do is run a wire from that tach filter on the coil pack directly to that wire and your tach will work.

_________________
90 Mirage LIL EVO 940awhp
14 Audi R8 V10
07 LS460L, 01 LS430
13 Tundra TRD S/C, 96 T100
96 Land Cruiser GT35R


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 12:19 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2003 1:53 pm
Posts: 158
Location: Austin, Texas
what about an aftermarket tach? all I need to do is run it to the tach filter?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:35 pm 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:53 am
Posts: 360
Location: Duluth, MN
Are there any other alternatives to the 90 coil pack filter?? Can you find just the filter from a parts store? Its getting hard to find the 90 coil packs with tach filters. Just wondering if anyone else has found a different way that doesnt add another aftermarket tach to the dash.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 9:32 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 5:22 pm
Posts: 2429
Location: New Brighton, PA
Hey Jason, I'm trying to figure out what I can do here. I have a 91 coil pack and I don't have a tach filter. What should I do in this situation?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 9:35 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2001 7:00 pm
Posts: 2191
Location: SoCal and Wisconsin
Junkyard? They should have one.

Ebay? I might have an extra one.

_________________
90 Mirage LIL EVO 940awhp
14 Audi R8 V10
07 LS460L, 01 LS430
13 Tundra TRD S/C, 96 T100
96 Land Cruiser GT35R


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 9:42 pm 
Offline
Moderator

Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 11:15 pm
Posts: 7510
Location: Stantonsburg, NC
Robert, read this entire thread. to4garrett schools us on how to get it working correctly.

http://forum.4g61t.org/viewtopic.php?se ... 49&t=22217

_________________
95 Eagle Summit DL coupe
15 Mitsubishi Mirage ES hatch


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 2:36 am 
Offline
Some call me a god
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 2:19 am
Posts: 1629
Location: Tonawanda, NY
Thanks LILEVO for the instruction manual, it helped a lot today.

I just modified my 90 Colt hach last weekend, from 89 N/A 4G61 ECU and wiring, to 91 4G63T coil, power transistor, TPS, MAF, DSMlink ECU, and the extra solenoids and knock sensor. I have the turbo throttle body on there but I still have the N/A engine in it. I just wanted to work out the bugs electronically before I drop my $10,000,000 freshly built 4G63T in there. So the ISC was shot, for anyone wondering the 89-90 ISC WILL fit on a 91 engine.

Anyways to the point, my tach stopped working as well and I worried it was some kind of disasterous compatiblity problem. My fears were put to rest after I read this link: http://www.lilevo.com/turbo/tach/body_tach.html . I put my 89 coil pack with the tacho interface back on the car, retained the 91 PT, and put the 4 wire coil plug back on my engine harness.

The shortcut I found that may be helpful to anyone reading this thread, was to run the yellow wire (fourth wire from the coil pack), from the tacho interface, to the noise filter for the original 89-90 tach. It's already mounted on/near the manifold on the 89-90 CSM's. Assuming you still have that part of the wiring from your original engine harness, you only have to run the wire a few inches instead of going through the firewall.

There should be a small rectangular metal box about an inch long by a half inch wide, screwed to the manifold or the bracket underneath it. That's the tach filter. Two wires come up from it and go to a two blade plug like what's on your purge or wastegate solenoids. On the 4G61 and 4G63 engines wiring, it plugs into the harness right behind the fuel pressure regulator.
Simply cut the side of that pigtail which splices into the (Power Transistor to ECU) tach signal wire, and connect that side of the plug to the tacho interface wire from the 89-90 coil pack. The other end of that pigtail that comes OUT of the filter should already go directly to your Tach and DOES NOT not pass the ECU nor does it collect $200. Thanks again for the pointers and the pictures. Now that that pain in the rectum is finally over with, I can move on to the next stage of my build. \:D/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 4:12 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 7:32 am
Posts: 85
Location: Brisbane, Australia
my tacho works but when I start it up the needle is at 2k still runs fine with normal idle at 800-1000. It sometimes pulses also, I've link a direct wire from the tacho at ecu to tacho filter.

It settles down (real idle) after I've driven a bit as well. I also adjusted the sensitivity on the tacho circuit to max because if I don't it doesn't sync with response time (lags).


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 5:13 am 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:53 am
Posts: 360
Location: Duluth, MN
would a tach filter like this work also?
http://www.bobsgauges.com/servlet/the-3 ... ter/Detail

It may be an alternative to trying to find '90 coils with the filter on them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 08, 2009 9:59 am 
Offline
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood

Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 9:28 pm
Posts: 202
Location: Winona, MN
I don't know if this contributes to the thread or not, but when I got my 90 Laser, the factory tach had been disabled, hacked, whatever. So I found a different cluster but it was from a 91-94. To get the tach to work, I simply tapped into the white wire by the transistor and ran it inside into the stock harness right behind the cluster. It still didn't work because I had a 90 car and a 91-94 cluster. So I opened up the cluster and swapped the chip that's inside with the one in my old hacked cluster. Worked perfect.


Just thought it might be some usefull info. 1g dsm's and 3g csm's are really close right? I would imagine the tach setup inside the csm cluster uses the same components?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 11:59 am 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:31 am
Posts: 74
Location: QC, Canada
Hi all,

I have a 89-90 wiring harness and coil pack w/ filter on 4g63t w/450cc.
Run great with 89 csm turbo ecu/maf.

When I put my 94 dsm turbo ecu/maf, tach is bouncing at 5000 rpm.

I read a lot about puting a 94 coil pack/harness in 89 csm. But isn't really my situation.


What I have to do for my tach/ecu work properly and see real good rpm signal?

_________________
Colt92t: 12.71@107mph/ 1.8 60' on 22x8x15' slicks, 4g63t, 16g@15psi, FMIC, 3" TBE, K&N, EcmLink


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:09 pm 
Offline
Some call me a god
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 2:19 am
Posts: 1629
Location: Tonawanda, NY
Quote:
Hi all,

I have a 89-90 wiring harness and coil pack w/ filter on 4g63t w/450cc.
Run great with 89 csm turbo ecu/maf.

When I put my 94 dsm turbo ecu/maf, tach is bouncing at 5000 rpm.

I read a lot about puting a 94 coil pack/harness in 89 csm. But isn't really my situation.


What I have to do for my tach/ecu work properly and see real good rpm signal?

Wire in a 91-94 power transistor/ignition module in place of your 89-90 one. You will find that the 91-94 one has an extra pin. That's the tach signal you want to use for your ECU. The signal from your coil tach interface should only go to your tach via the filter, and the one from your 91-95 ignition module goes directly to your ECU.

FYI: The "Filter" and the "Tacho interface" are two seperate parts.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:19 pm 
Offline
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:31 am
Posts: 74
Location: QC, Canada
Quote:

Wire in a 91-94 power transistor/ignition module in place of your 89-90 one. You will find that the 91-94 one has an extra pin. That's the tach signal you want to use for your ECU. The signal from your coil tach interface should only go to your tach via the filter, and the one from your 91-95 ignition module goes directly to your ECU.

FYI: The "Filter" and the "Tacho interface" are two seperate parts.

I think is the 89-90 that has 4 wires plug and the 91-94 has 3 wires plug.

http://www.4g61t.org/forum/viewtopic.ph ... 7&start=15

_________________
Colt92t: 12.71@107mph/ 1.8 60' on 22x8x15' slicks, 4g63t, 16g@15psi, FMIC, 3" TBE, K&N, EcmLink


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited