4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Sat Apr 10, 2021 7:32 am

All times are UTC-05:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: AEM
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 8:37 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:36 pm
Posts: 194
Location: connecticut
I am building a AWD summit, 4g63t. I bought a used AEM and a 1st gen harness. Since the engine/harness was a mass air and the AEM is a M.A.P.(speed density) what do I need to hitch it up? Is the a patch harness or do I use wires in the factory harness. I also know the I.A.T. sensor was part of the original MAF so do I have to break those wires out of the MAF plug to wire to a IAT? What IAT sensor should I use? Any help is appreciated!!

I also have to say this has been tough project for me (I got very picky with this vehicle and have been working on it for 6 years) and hats off to you guys who do this in a short time!!
I did post a build thread back in 2007 but the updates have been too slow to post.

Thanks ,
Mark


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AEM
PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2014 11:18 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:01 am
Posts: 198
Location: Canton, GA
The easiest way on the 1g is to wire both iat and map into the old maf section of the harness. Iat and ground for it are simple. The map sensor uses +5volts, ground, and signal. All are found in the maf plug. Worst case you just have to move the pin for maf to the desiccated map input. Hope I described it well enough. Sounds simple at least.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AEM
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:18 am 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:36 pm
Posts: 194
Location: connecticut
So I am assuming the AEM, plugged into the factory harness, is using the stock wiring. All I have to do is cut the MAF plug of and split the wires that goes to the 2 sensors.
Correct?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AEM
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 12:27 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:36 pm
Posts: 194
Location: connecticut
What about the wideband sensor? What wires do I use to make it work?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AEM
PostPosted: Fri Jun 13, 2014 1:43 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:01 am
Posts: 198
Location: Canton, GA
Yes on the maf plug. As far as wideband, does your aem have the built-in controller? If it does, it should have it's own harness. If not, take the signal out from your wideband controller and wire it into the primary o2 signal input.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AEM
PostPosted: Sat Jun 14, 2014 7:58 pm 
Offline
CSM Expert
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2001 7:00 pm
Posts: 2191
Location: SoCal and Wisconsin
Read the aem pdfs and fsm. Everything is in there on how to wire it.

_________________
90 Mirage LIL EVO 940awhp
14 Audi R8 V10
07 LS460L, 01 LS430
13 Tundra TRD S/C, 96 T100
96 Land Cruiser GT35R


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AEM
PostPosted: Sun Jun 15, 2014 3:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 1:44 am
Posts: 24
Location: Seattle ,Wa
AEM does NOT use the map input to the ecu via the maf harness. It uses the Diag plug for setting your ignition timing. You pull the power and ground for the map and the AIT from the maf plug.

Bryan


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AEM
PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2014 6:47 pm 
Offline
Member

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 9:36 pm
Posts: 194
Location: connecticut
Quote:
AEM does NOT use the map input to the ecu via the maf harness. It uses the Diag plug for setting your ignition timing. You pull the power and ground for the map and the AIT from the maf plug.

Bryan
Where on the 1G engine harness is the diag connector? What is the wire color or what does the plug look like?
Thanks,
Mark


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC-05:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited