4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 1:17 pm

All times are UTC-05:00

Post subject: awd swap
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:58 am 
CSM Junkie

say I had all the parts needed for the awd swap, is there anybody on the board from pa,ny, or nj that could do it? If there is how much would you charge, and how long do you think it would take? let me know guys. thanks.

Post subject: Re: awd swap
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:47 am 

I know I'm too far south for you but I'm sure I could handle it. I've never done one before but have been wanting to for a good while now. I would say you're easily looking at $1000 in labor alone and thats if someone hooks you up. Most shops probably wouldn't even mess with it to be honest.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:15 am 
CSM Junkie

one of my mechanics i go to sometimes, is really good at any kind of custom fabrication. for the work he does his prices are pretty good to, but hes always so busy. when i wanted my intercooler piping done i had to wait so long because to get my car in because of a viper he was making a twin turbo kit for. he told me if i brought him pictures and some info on what has to be done with the swap it shouldnt be a problem at all. i wouldnt mine bringing it someone who has done one or two already. if you werent so far away i would be your test dummy, lol.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:20 am 

Why not just invest in a quality MIG welder and take on the project yourself? There are quite a few running awd swaps on here now so if you hit any snags you can come here for help. In the end you'll have the satisfaction of saying you completed it on your own.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:50 am 
CSM Junkie

lol, i have never welded a day in my life. i would leave it to the pros, i would probally end up hurting myself.

PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:12 pm 
CSM Junkie