4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Tue Mar 19, 2024 2:38 am

All times are UTC-05:00

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2017 2:23 pm 
Restricted Newbie

I'm in the middle of gathering all of the parts for the AWD swap on my 89 Mirage. My car already has the following:
  • KYB AGX up front, GR2 in rear
  • Tenzo R springs (highest spring rate I could find)
  • Front and rear strut tower bars
  • VR4 RS AWD tranny w/viscous coupler eliminator (plan to weld diff)
I'm purchasing the following from Miller Import Parts:
  • 1g Rear driveshaft
  • 1g Complete 4bolt LSD Rear end
  • 1g 23 spline AWD Transfer Case
  • 1g Front Hubs
I'm not a mechanic, but I can handle the the engine and bolt-ons. I'm working with a mechanic/fabricator friend of mine to do the swap. I need help with the suspension and wheels/tires. This car will be a streetable drag car. It is not a daily driver and will be used on the street rarely except for driving to the track or if my daily driver is in the shop for a day. The previous owner did most of the current work. The fenders have already been rolled out a bit. The current set up would cause the fender to eat into the tire when hitting any nice size bumps or dips in the road. I would like to fit 15x8/r15 with 225/50s (Pirelli P Zero Trofeo R). Is this possible or do I need to stick woth 15x7s and a smaller tire? What offset for the 15x8 or 15x7? Also, I think the car will need to be raised a little bit and I'm not sure if that is possible with my current suspension. Any input there is greatly appreciated.

I know there are a lot of posts about wheels/tires/suspension. I have read through many of them. I was hoping more for a just a straight answer of Yes that works, use X offset, and your suspension should be fine.

Link to previous owner's build with pics. http://www.mx5atlanta.com/forums/showth ... ess)/page1

PostPosted: Tue May 02, 2017 4:44 pm 
Spends Too Much Time Under The Hood