4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 7:54 am

All times are UTC-05:00

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:42 am 
Restricted Newbie

i have brought i mitsi cyborg 4g61t with 4g63t injectors which means its gone from 390cc to 450cc size injectors :toimonster: , but thats all, so its running very rich at the moment and has sucky proformance, i recently brought a adjustable fuel reg and am now just waiting for the adaptor in the mail along with a boost tap, does anyone knw a cheaper way to make use of this extra fuel rate? as im an apprentice and cant afford dyno tuning and think itd be a waste to down grade back to stock :( would a airflow meter help? or would i need the ecu to? if i do, does anyone know how to rewire for this different ecu?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:40 pm 
The Silent Administrator

If you have the stock motor and no complimentary upgrades to follow with the 450cc's (or 1G style injectors), then put the 390 cc's back in.

What you need to make the 450cc work properly and without much consequence is as follows:

1G 4g63t ECU (main computer behind/below the factory radio)
1G FPR (fuel pressure regulator)
1G 450cc injectors
1G MAF (mass airflow sensor)
Fuel pump rewire kit
Intercooler and piping
Boost gauge
Full width 4g61t radiator and fan(s) if you only have the half size

If you want to up the boost you can add:

MBC (manual boost controller)
1G early or later model ECU with EPROM and tuning for larger injectors and deadtimes, fuel maps for higher boost ceiling, MAS upgrades, etc)
1G cams
2G MAS
Wideband 02 sensor and gauge

This is the safest approach currently available, where no tuning is required and will be turn key and go, if all parts are working properly.
Once you get into random cams, higher boost, datalogging (well you should have this anyways), AFPR (aftermarket fuel pressure regulators) and so forth, it becomes quite complicated and less fun in my books.