4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:50 pm

All times are UTC-05:00

PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2010 11:26 pm 
Because Race Car

I have searched and read through some of the other threads regarding similar issues but nothing was quite exactly like this situation. I'd prefer to not have to spend much money on a full tune-up since the 4G15 is not long for this car anyway before it becomes AWD. Here we go!!!

So I am looking at picking up a local 91 Colt hatch. I will likely be driving this home if I can fix it on site and it may become my temporary daily until the swap, but I have no experience with the 4G15, and this one isn't running reliably at the moment.

The current owner says that it will start and run momentarily but will not remain running long enough to drive. The car has 187k on the clock so at this point I'm thinking it could be anything from plugs/distributor to fuel filter/pump/clogged injectors.

Suggestions?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 2:45 am 
Digital Baby Troll

Head down there with your tool box and a vacuum tester and work from there. I don't know a thing about the 4g15 but you can pretty much figure out any problem with a DVOM and a vacuum tester. My 2 cents

-John

72 Dodge-Pedo'van

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 6:38 am 

These cars are just like any other Mitsu from this era, check the ecu first. Its located under the passenger's side kick panel, up beside the glove compartment. Remove it (2 10mm headed bolts) and remove the case. Look over the board with a flash light and also check for weird smells. Even if this is not the problem its worth taking a look at before making the car a daily driver.

PostPosted: Fri Jul 16, 2010 11:44 am 
Some call me a god

I'm with Chris on this one, most likely the ECU. It's a common issue on a vehicle that old, and the most likely thing that the previous owners mechanic would be unwilling to stake his reputation on telling him to replace it.