4g61t.org

Specializing in the 3g CSM
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:17 pm

All times are UTC-05:00

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:31 am 
CSM Junkie

searched for about five weeks looking for a good candidate. finally spent the last thirty hours driving up to Ga. to pick up my new project car. I have been dying to do an A/T turbo project for about five years now. super exited about this purchase. car is in fine shape, original body, no rust, and very few dings. nice interior with the usual issues of a 21 year old car. cant wait to get started on this car. here are some pics they sent me. I will post some new pics as its cleaned and detailed. if you would like a preview of the kind of build it will receive you can read about my last build on my evo 1 here:
http://www.evolutionm.net/forums/evo-sh ... tweak.html
the readers digest rundown plans on the build so far:
RVR trans drop in but with two critical changes, front LSD and 3.54 final drive. I think the front LSD would be more important than the rear LSD. hard TQ spikes will be lifting the front end and transferring weight to the rear. from previous AWD light weight cars the RF is always first to break loose. picked up a factory torsion LSD off ebay shortly after buying the RVR trans. it was about ~325. eventually would like to get LSD in the rear as well but want to see how it reacts without one. next change is finding a n/a auto trans with the 3.54 r/p gears. I want this car to be stupid quick to 100, with a 1/4 mile minimum of 11.5 at 120. no one in USA has done this that I am aware of but there is a fella in aus. that has used both 3.54 and 3.9 setups in his AWD a/t builds. I have driven a few a/t cars over the years and the gears just feel toooo long. this change alone should add tremendous punch to the fun per dollar ratio.